Snipe USA

District 2

District Governor: Mary Buckley Phone: 402-796-2505
Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, Colorado, Kansas

Welcome to District 2 – the West Central District!

Our District is a big sailing mixing pot, because our venues are so diverse. Our clubs sail on everything from small 100 acre ponds, to the huge Gulf of Mexico.  Our regattas can be hot and windy such as the 2000 Nationals in Oklahoma City or cold and majestic as the 2007 Nationals in Dillon Colorado.

In 2013 we hosted the North American Championships at the Lakewood Yacht Club Seabrook, Texas.  The Yacht Club is on Galveston Bay, southeast of Houston, Texas.

In 2014 we hosted the Nationals in Lake Okoboji in Northwest Iowa. Lake Okoboji is known as one of the three “true blue water” lakes in the world, due primarily to its glacial origins and spring fed sources. In 2018, we hosted the Nationals in Green Lake, Wisconsin!

Check our District 2 calendar for more detailed information on our District regattas.

Come join us for good times and good racing. If you would like more information about Snipe sailing in the ten fleets of the West Central District, please contact me.

Fair winds and good sailing!




1DallasLaura Dahl O’LearyFleet 1Dallas Snipe Fleet
93Wichita (Ninnescah Sailing Assoc)James RixNSA
120Houston-GalvestonLaura Dalgleish
210Rocky MountainRyan SchubertFleet 210
309Iowa/NebraskaPatrick LeahyFleet 309
567LincolnAndrew OzakiFleet 567
640Bow MarMike Slouka
14Oklahoma CityGary Derrick

Useful Links:

Signature Regattas

  • District 2 Championships
  • District 2 Jr. Championships
  • Southwestern Championship in Dallas, TX
  • Norm Tanner Memorial Regatta in Bow Mar, CO
  • Fire on the Water Regatta in Lincoln, NE
  • Missouri Valley Championship in Council Bluffs, IA
  • Rocky Mountain Championship in Longmont, CO

2020 Regatta schedule

Southwestern Championship   May 30-31, 2020  Dallas TX (not Memorial Day) – Laura O’Leary
Fire on the Water Classic Regatta & District 2 Championship + Junior Worlds Qualifier:  June 20-21, 2020  Lincoln NE     Andrew Ozaki
Norm Tanner Memorial Regatta July 11-12, 2020  Bow Mar CO   – Mike Slouka
Rocky Mountain Championships & Worlds Qualifier September 5-7, 2020  (Labor Day Weekend) Union Reservoir – Longmont CO  –   Ryan Schubert
Missouri Valley Championship September 12-13, 2020  Lake Manawa – IA   – Patrick Leahy

All 5 of these will count towards the 2020 Minneford Recognition. These same 5 regattas will also count towards our own District 2 Best Fleet and Best Skipper award.  2019 results are posted above.  There has been a little talk about possibly having regattas in both the Kansas City as well as the Houston area.  If either of those happen, we’ll include them in the District award competition, but we’re limited to counting just 5 regattas for the Minneford.