Snipe USA

2012 SCIRA USA Nationals

2012 SCIRA USA Nationals
June 23
18:04 2012

2012 SCIRA USA National Championship

Coral Reef Yacht Club

June 15-22, 2012




Bruno Bethlem de Amorim and Daniel Seixas Claro of ICRJ in Rio de Janeiro have won the US Championship at Coral Reef Yacht Club without sailing on Friday, the last scheduled day of the regatta. Racing was cancelled due to severe weather. Although the name of the tropical storm which caused this is not exciting, (it was called Invest 96at), the lightning, thunder and rain which came with it certainly were. Bruno and Daniel held a convincing lead through the regatta with a total score of only 11 points for the seven races with two first place finishes and 3 finishes in second. The two top teams they beat are both multiple time US Snipe National Champions. South Florida’s Ernesto Rodriguez, with 17 points, ended up winning the Heinzerling Trophy as the top US skipper and crew Cate Gundlach won the Portage Lakes Yacht Club Trophy as winning US crew and the Eleanor Williams Memorial Trophy awarded to the top woman sailor (skipper or crew). The 3rd place team, Coral Reef Yacht Club’s Augie Diaz and crew Justine O’Connor won the Slauson Memorial Trophy earning 18 points in the regatta. Coral Reef Yacht Club’s Brian Kamilar and Enrique Quintero finished in 4th place with 21 points. The top four US teams from the Heinzerling series qualified to represent SCIRA USA at the 2013 Snipe World Championship. Qualification is subject to the eligibility restrictions as stated in the subsequent even Deeds of Gift. The qualifiers are Rodriguez/Gundlach, Diaz/O’Connor, Kamilar/Quintero and Nicholas Voss and Michael Popp from Coconut Grove Sailing Club.

The competition at the 2012 US Snipe Nationals was world class especially between the top four boats. Bruno won the 2009 Snipe Worlds with Ernesto in 3rd place that year. Augie won it in 2003 and 2005 and was 2003 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. Brian Kamilar’s crew Enrique Quintero won the 2007 Snipe Worlds as crew. The 44 boats competed on Biscayne Bay and Coconut Grove’s Coral Reef Yacht Club was the host club, Jaime Ramon is the PRO, Jane Anne Pincus is Chief Judge and Regatta Chair is Rich Raymond for Coral Reef Yacht Club. Photo credits goes to Marco Oquendo with photos at

Snipe Nationals (44 boats) – 7 races with one discard
1.Bruno Bethlem de Amorim and Daniel Seixas Claro (BRA) 2-2-1-1-(7)-3-2 (11); 2.Ernesto Rodriguez and Cate Gundlach 1-1-3-(9)-2-5-5 (17); 3.Augie Diaz with Justine O’Connor 6-5-2-2-(11)-2-1 (18)

Complete results are found at


About Author




No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Only registered users can comment.